Every year, rheumatologists across the province are honoured with various awards for their clinical, educational and scholarly work.  Since 2018, the Alberta Medical Association Section of Rheumatology has acknowledged rheumatologists for their recent or lifetime of work.  Congratulations to our award winners.  Thank you to your dedication in rheumatology in Alberta!


Distinguished Rheumatologist – Dr. Dale Sholter
Educator of the Year – Dr. Steven Thomson
Future Leader Award – Dr. Mo Osman
Research Paper of the Year – Dr. Claire Barber


Distinguished Rheumatologist – Dr. Joanne Homike
Educator of the Year – Dr. Elaine Yacyshyn
Future Leader Award – Dr. May Choi
Research Paper of the Year – Dr. Glen Hazlewood
Innovation of the Year – Dr. Cristina Moran Toro
Long Service Award – Dr. Jason Soo


Distinguished Rheumatologist – Dr. Susan Barr
Educator of the Year – Dr. Gary Morris
Future Leader Award – Dr. Steven Thomson
Research Paper of the Year – Dr. Mo Osman
Innovation of the Year – Dr. Lilia Olaru


Distinguished Rheumatologist – Dr. Dianne Mosher
Educator of the Year – Dr. Stephen Aaron
Future Leader Award – Dr. Sarah Troster
Research Paper of the Year – Dr. Alison Clifford
Innovation of the Year – Dr. Carrie Ye


Distinguished Rheumatologist – Dr. Liam Martin
Educator of the Year – Dr. Christopher Penney
Future Leader Award – Dr. Carrie Ye
Research Paper of the Year – Dr. Stephanie Keeling
Innovation of the Year – Dr. Steven Katz
Long Service Award – Dr. Steven Katz

What is Rheumatology?

Rheumatologists see over 100 different types of diseases. We are known for seeing arthritis, however, we also see many other conditions.

Learn More

Find us on YouTube

Visit our YouTube channel and find a number of helpful videos to learn more about a range of topics relating to rheumatology.

Visit our YouTube Channel

Make a Donation

Support arthritis care in Alberta. Click the button below for more info, or to make a donation today.